IHOF National Awards


Isshinryu Hall of Fame National Awards

FSDC’s founder, Mr. Z, was inducted into the prestigious Isshinryu Hall of Fame in 2016. This is the highest honor an Isshinryu Master can receive. Mr. Z has also received national Awards in 1993, 1994, and 1997, including 2002 when he received top honors for his “Isshinryu Spirit” and 2009 when he received the Number One Isshinryu Contribution award partnered with his wife, Chris. In 2012 and 2014, Mr. Z was awarded the coveted title Top Master Sensei. In 2011, Mr. Z was chosen Male Instructor of the Year, and was awarded top five honors for Spirit of Isshinryu, which he was honored with again in 2015. Chris, co-owner of FSDC, was recognized for National Honors in 1994, and 1999, including the Number One Isshinryu Contribution award in 2003 and 2009, and was chosen Female Instructor of the Year for 2010, most recently being awarded top five honors in the same category for 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018. In 2014 and 2018, Ms. Chris was awarded top five in the category of Top Master Sensei, and in 2017, in the category of Sensei of Senseis. In 2018, Ms. Chris was awarded the title of Top Female Instructor in the Nation. The school itself was voted as one of the top Isshinryu Schools in the world in 1999, 2002, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018, receiving a Number One ranking in 2003. The school was also chosen as the Most Outstanding Dojo for 2011 and Most Supportive Dojo in 2012 by the Isshinryu Hall of Fame.  

For 2018 the following students and Senseis were nominated for awards:

Young Female Karate Student 12 and Under: ROWAN ADOMAITIS, MOLLY FORSYTH, and
Young Male Karate Student 12 and Under: AUSTIN BERMINGHAM and
JACHIN CHUNG First Place Award Winner-2018
Young Female Karate Student 13-17: AMEILIA CHUNG, EMILY KASPER, LEXI MAXTON, and
NEHA GOGINENI First Place Award Winner-2018
Young Male Karate Student 13-17: ANDREW ADOMAITIS and BEN MATAS
Adult Female Karate Student: RAE MANELA
Adult Male Karate Student: SCOTT VERHELLE and
JIM BERTIN First Place Award Winner-2018
Female Instructor: NEHA GOGINENI, LILY KOSAKA, and
MS. CHRIS SZELAP First Place Award Winner-2018
Outstanding Contribution: MIKE ARNOLD
Sensei of the Year Master Level: MS. CHRIS SZELAP
Isshinryu Dojo of the Year: FAMILY SELF DEFENSE CENTER